Set up the integration between LMS365 and Microsoft Viva Learning

You can integrate LMS365 with Microsoft Viva Learning and feature LMS365 courses and training plans in Viva Learning. This integration ensures that structured courses and training plans from your LMS365 solution are shown in Viva Learning together with other available learning in the organization. 

 

IMPORTANT   

The employee learning API in Microsoft Graph is on the /beta version. Therefore, it's subject to change and there can be issues with integrations created with this API.
Also, due to its version, the employee learning API in production applications is not supported.
See Microsoft's documentation for more information on the employee learning API and its status.

 

Once integrated, LMS365 is included in the list of available content providers for your Viva Learning application, and when enabled, LMS365 courses and training plans are shown in cards, side by side with other learning content you choose to display in Viva Learning.

 

 

IMPORTANT   

Before you start, make sure that your Microsoft Viva Learning or Microsoft Viva suite subscriptions are enabled, and that you have assigned Microsoft Viva Learning licenses to your users.
The integration can be completed only by a user with Microsoft 365 global admin permissions.

 

Integrate LMS365 with Microsoft Viva Learning

1. With a Microsoft 365 global admin account, go to the LMS365 Admin Center > Global Settings > LMS Configuration > Integration connectors > Integration connectors panel.

2. On the Viva Learning (Preview) tab, select Connect.

 

 

3. From the Pick an account list, select a user with Microsoft 365 global admin permissions. If this user isn't shown in the list, select Use another account and log in using your Microsoft 365 global admin account.

 

 

The first time you connect with this tenant, you will be asked to review and consent to permissions that will enable LMS365 to:

  • Manage learning provider – Create, update, read, and delete data for the learning provider in the organization's directory, on behalf of the signed-in user.
  • Manage all learning content – Manage all learning content in the organization's directory, without a signed-in user.
  • Sign in and read user profile – Sign in to the app, allow the app to read the profile of signed-in users, and allow the app to read basic company information of signed-in users.

If you connect again in the future, you will not be asked to provide consent again because consent will be automatically assumed.

4. Select the expand icon against each permission and review the information carefully.

5. If you consent to grant permissions, select Accept. Otherwise, select Cancel.

 

 

Once you have granted consent, the Integration connectors panel opens.

 

 

Once consent has been given, LMS365 starts to synchronize your courses and training plans with Viva Learning.

 

NOTE   

You should expect synchronization to take at least 24 hours. It will take a similar length of time when creating courses and training plans in LMS365 after the initial synchronization.

 

All courses and training plans in all of your catalogs are pushed to Viva Learning, except for those that:

  • Are unpublished.
  • Are marked as not visible in the course catalog.
  • Have a targeted audience.
  • Aren't visible to all users in your company.

You can start to prepare by customizing the logos you want to use for each of the themes. You can do this as soon as you are connected – you don't have to wait until synchronization is finished.

 

Customize the logos and provider name of LMS365 courses and training plans in Viva Learning

In Viva Learning, a small logo is shown in the bottom left-hand corner of a course or training plan card, as well as the name of the content provider. Select a card to see the same logo displayed in the expanded view.

By default, LMS365 courses and training plans in Viva Learning display the LMS365 logo. The Integration connectors panel enables you to customize the logos and provider name for your organization's courses and training plans.

1. Enter the Display Name. This is displayed in the providers list in Viva Learning.

2. Toggle the Show logos/Hide logos option to change the view.

 

 

By default, courses and training plans in Viva Learning display the LMS365 logo, but these logos can be changed.

You can choose different images for each shape of logo in each theme:

  • Full size logo for dark theme (a rectangle image that is displayed on the details page of the learning content)
  • Square logo for dark theme (a square image that is displayed on the learning content card)
  • Full size logo for light theme (a rectangle image that is displayed on the details page of the learning content)
  • Square logo for light theme (a square image that is displayed on the learning content card)

3. Hover over the logo you want to change and select Choose an image.

 

 

Any images that are already uploaded are displayed.

4. Select an image that is already uploaded. Alternatively, upload a new image by selecting Upload. If you choose to upload a new image, navigate to the relevant folder and select it.

5. Select an image and then select Delete to delete it, if required.

6. Select Save.

 

 

The selected images are now displayed for all your courses and training plans that can be accessed from Viva Learning.

 

Disconnect from Viva Learning

Disconnecting from the service removes the link between LMS365 and Viva Learning. Additionally:

  • LMS365 is no longer displayed in the list of available providers in Viva Learning.
  • Any content previously synchronized is no longer available in Viva Learning.
  • Courses/training plans are no longer synchronized between LMS365 and Viva Learning.

When you disconnect, you see a confirmation message. When you confirm, the link between LMS365 as a provider and Viva Learning is removed.

1. With a Microsoft 365 global admin account, go to the LMS365 Admin Center > Global Settings > LMS Configuration > Integration connectors > Integration connectors panel.

2. On the Viva Learning (Preview) tab, select Disconnect.

3. Confirm the action by selecting OK, or select Cancel.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.