Managing LMS365 licenses

Introduction

Before you start working with LMS365, you need to activate the License.

In this guide, we will cover how you activate and manage LMS365 licenses.

 

2021-11-26_15_32_01-LMS365_Admin_Center.png

 

 

Trial license

LMS365 is available for a 30 days trial with an unlimited number of users. There is no need to obtain a license key during the trial period.

To activate the trial license:

  1. Go to the Global area > Settings > License Information.
  2. Fill in the Customer Information fields.
  3. Type in word trial in the License Key field.
  4. Select Activate.

After the successful license activation, a green check mark will appear next to the license.

 

 

Activate a license

To activate a license with a license you have received from LMS365:

  1. Go to the to the Global Settings > Settings > License Information.
  2. Enter the key in the License Key field.
  3. Select Activate.

After the successful license activation, a green check mark will appear next to the activated license.

 

2021-11-26_15_32_01-LMS365_Admin_Center.png

 

License information

To check the status of the license, click the information icon next to License Key:

  • Global (tenant) and LMS administrators can view the license information from Global Settings > License Information on tenant level or in the LMS365 Admin Center > Settings > License Information on the course catalog level.
  • Course catalog administrators can view the license information in the LMS365 Admin Center > Settings > License Information on the course catalog level only (read-only permissions).

On the opened License Information panel, you will find details about the license - information about the license will be the same whether you view it from Global Settings or the LMS365 Admin Center.

 

2021-11-26_15_37_48-LMS365_Admin_Center.png

 

Under the License Information tab, you will find details on the license:

Start Date - Shows the start date of your license or trial period.
End Date - Shows the end date of your license or trial period.
Max number of users - Shows maximum number of users allowed by your license. If maximum number of users has been exceeded, it is possible to delete users to meet the license limitations. For a trial license, this field is empty as the number of users is unlimited for the trial license.
Current number of users - Shows current number of unique learners across each course. Current number of learners is counted from all courses in the tenant.

License Key - Specifies the license key. This field will show if the license has a trial status.

 

 

IMPORTANT: Users that are deleted or disabled in Azure Active Directory are not counted in current number of users.

When the maximum number of users has been reached or a license has expired, you have a period of 14 days to handle the license issue. During this period, the system will not stop working, only a warning will appear in the administration back-end.

 

license_expired.png

 

license_exceeded.png

 

Learners can continue to work with the LMS during the 14 days period. After the 14 days period (if license issues have not been handled), leaners will see the below message when trying to access LMS365.

 

mceclip2.png

 

 

 

Manage number of users to be licensed

Under the User Administration tab, global (tenant) and LMS administrators can manage the number of users that should be licensed.

LMS365 license is automatically assigned to learners enrolled in courses. This means that all users that are enrolled in a course will count as a licensed user. After you have activated the LMS365 license, you can unenroll users from all trainings to lower the number of needed LMS365 licenses. You can also create a report with a list of all users that are counted in the license.

 

To unenroll users from all courses and training plans in LMS365:

  1. Go the LMS365 Admin Center > Global Settings > License Information.
  2. Select the informative icon next to License Key.
  3. Choose the User Administration tab.
  4. Select the user(s) you want to unenroll.
  5. Select Unenroll
     

 

IMPORTANT: No confirmation message will be displayed. The unenrollment action cannot be undone. To add the learner that was unenrolled from all courses and training plans back to a training or a course catalog navigate to Managing learners from the learner list in a course catalog.

 

unenroll_users__1_.png

 

To create a user license report:

  1. Navigate to Global Settings > Settings > License Information
    or to LMS365 Admin Center > Settings > License Information (for course catalog administrators)
  2. Select the informative icon next to License Key.
  3. Choose the User Administration tab.
  4. Select Create a report.
  5. The excel file will be downloaded automatically to your device.

2021-11-26_16_03_54-LMS365_Admin_Center.png

 

 

License in the LMS365 mobile app

If you’re using a license in trial mode, it will be possible to take courses and training plans online via the LMS365 mobile application, as well as to download courses with SCORM content or quizzes and take them offline.

 

 

NOTE: A course downloaded during a trial period will remain downloaded.

 

 

After the trial period, you must have a valid LMS365 license installed on your site. If not, the users will not have access to the LMS365 mobile app, and after the log in 'License is not valid' error will appear.

 

mceclip1.png

 

When activating LMS365 license you can include Offline Player option as well to provide users with a possibility to download courses that include at least one content package or quiz and then take items offline.

 

 

IMPORTANT: The Offline Player option is additionally purchased with the license. Make sure this option is included in you plan to use the app in the offline mode. If the activated license does not have this option, users will not have the ability to download courses and take them offline. There will be no Download action.

 

 

 

Set up alerts with expiring license and exceeding number of users

To set up email notification to be sent to alert selected administrators when a selected percentage of maximum number of licensed users is reached and before and after the license expires, follow the steps:

  1. Navigate to Global Settings > Settings > License Information
  2. Select the informative icon next to License Key.
  3. Choose the Notifications tab:
    • Specify number of users in % to get the notification when this number of users is reached. You can specify several number of days separated by comma. By default, 50 and 99 % are set.
    • Specify number of days before the license expires. You can specify several number of days separated by comma. By default, 30, 14, 7, 1 days are set.
    • Specify number of days after the license expires. You can specify several number of days separated by comma. By default, 0, 5, 10 days are set.
  4. Choose user(s) who will receive the notification:
  5. Select Save.

license_notificatios.png

 

 

NOTE: The email notifications are generated automatically with regard to the information specified in the Notifications section.

 

 

The email notifications contain general information where applicable: the reason the license expires, further actions required, the tenant domain, the license key, current number of users, maximum number of users, expiry date:

  • The trial subscription has expired.

9.png 

  • The license is approaching the maximum number of user.

12.png

 

  • The license is due for renewal.

11.png

 

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 4 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.