Merge user accounts in LMS365 via API

In LMS365, it is possible to merge LMS365 user accounts with all their learning progress data from one account to another via LMS365 API. This article describes what API endpoints to use to merge user accounts and the consequences of merging the accounts.

NOTE   

  • Merge of accounts is applicable to LMS365 data only. The merge action can't be undone.
  • Merge of accounts works both for external and deleted users.
  • No merge actions are possible with AD groups.

 

In this article

 

API endpoints to use to merge LMS365 accounts

To merge accounts in LMS365 via API, follow these steps:

1. Go to https://api.365.systems/ and authorize with the relevant API key. You can find more information about the authorization process here.

 

2. The API that allows you to merge two accounts requires the DirectoryObjectId of both user accounts. You can find the DirectoryObjectId of each user via the GET /odata/v2/Users request. Search via Ctrl+F for the name of both users and copy their DirectoryObjectId. Use the Download button to save the results in .JSON format to your computer.

 

3. Find the Users section, expand it, find the POST method /odata/v2/Users('{LoginName}')/Merge with the Merges user's data description, and select Try it out in the top left-hand corner. The endpoint is used to preserve the master data of the primary account and the training records of both accounts.

 

 

4. Fill in two fields:

  • key: LoginName - Enter the DirectoryObjectId of the primary account you want to save and to inherit the merged data from the other account. After the merge, the data of the primary account will be preserved and the training record data of the secondary account will be merged into the primary one.
  • "sourceUserLoginName": "string" - Replace string with the DirectoryObjectId of the secondary account you want to merge into the primary one. When the accounts have been merged, the secondary account will be removed from the Users page of the LMS365 Admin Center but will remain in the AAD.

 

5. Select the Execute button to run the request. 

6. Go to the Responses block to check the results:

  • Number 2xx (for example, 204) under Code shows that the request worked correctly.
  • In the Response body field, you will see information about account merge.

 

 

How does merge of accounts affect LMS365 roles and SharePoint groups?

The two accounts in LMS365 that will be merged may have different roles in LMS365 and may refer to different groups in SharePoint. The merging of LMS365 user accounts has the following consequences:

  • If the two accounts have different roles, the primary account will have all the roles from both the primary and secondary accounts. 
  • The secondary account loses all roles, but there will be no changes to the SharePoint groups that the secondary account belongs to. If you want the secondary account to be removed from a SharePoint group, this should be done manually.
  • If the secondary account was added to a course or training plan within an AD group, the registration will be transferred to the primary account, but this primary account will gain no role in this course or training plan.

 

How does merge of accounts affect enrollment registrations?

A user can have only one enrollment registration in a course or training plan. This means that after the merge action, the primary account retains its own enrollment registrations. Additionally, it gains those from the secondary account. All data connected to these enrollment registrations is transferred to the primary account.

If both accounts are enrolled in the same courses and training plans, enrollment registrations of the secondary account are transferred to the primary one as expired, but all data and training records will be available to observe from the primary account.

A user may also have only one enrollment registration in a course session. After the merge action, the primary account retains its own enrollment registrations in course sessions. Additionally, it gains those from the secondary account. All data connected to these enrollment registrations is transferred to the primary account.

 

How does merge of accounts affect assignments?

While merging accounts, the primary account retains its own assignments. Additionally, it gains those from the secondary account. If there are any coinciding assignments, the data and documents of the secondary account will be lost after merge.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.