LMS365 - Merge Accounts

Merge Accounts in LMS365

Basic Information

LMS365 let you move learning progress from one user account to another using API. It means there is an ability to merge all the data from secondary (outdated) user to primary one (current) if for any reason one person has two or more accounts. To perform this action, you can use endpoint post /odata/v2/Users(‘{LoginName}’)/Merge

It is important that the merge action connects LMS365 data only. The secondary account disappears from Learner list in the Admin Center but remains in the Azure. That is why it will still be available in all people pickers in LMS365 interfaces.

  • This method works both for External and Deleted users.

  • If you need to have the secondary user disappeared from all pickers, you should disable their account in Azure AD.

  • It is not possible to execute any merge actions with Active Directory Groups.

  • If the secondary user has been added into the Course within AD Group, the registration will be transferred, but the primary user will not have any role.

The merge action cannot be undone.

Roles (Learner, Instructor, Course Administrator etc.)

If accounts have different roles in LMS365 the primary account gains all of them. In case the Learner and Course Admin roles in the same Courses/Training Plans are coinciding, the primary account retains its own regardless of the level of the role.

The secondary account loses all roles, but there will be no changes in the SharePoint groups.

SharePoint Groups

If you need the secondary user to be removed from SharePoint groups, it should be done manually.

Courses and Training Plans (Enrollments, Progress, Certificates, Competencies etc.)

A user may have only one registration to the definite Course/Training Plan. It means that after the merge action the primary account retains its own registrations and gains new ones which only the secondary account has. All data connecting to these registrations transfer to the primary account.

In case of having registrations to the same Courses/Training Plans, registration of the secondary account transfers as expired, but all data will be available to observe from the primary account.

Sessions

A user may have only one registration to a Session as well as to a Course or Training Plan. Therefore, the primary account retains its own registrations on Sessions and gains new ones which only the secondary account has.

Assignments

While merging Assignments the primary account retains its own Assignments and gains new ones from the secondary account. In case of coincide tasks the information and documents of the secondary account will be lost.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.