Retake of courses and training plans

Introduction

The Voluntary Retake option allows learners to retake training to repeat the material of a course or training plan, improve their score, and/or update certificates and competencies that are to expire.

This guide provides information about the retake option, how admins can initialize a retake for a course or training plan, and how learners can retake training when the Voluntary Retake option is enabled. 

NOTE   

  • When users retake a course their progress is reset, and their course status is set to 'Not Started'. This also means that their progress with all learning items of the course is reset and this will be reflected in the course catalog reports.
  • When users retake a training plan their progress is reset, and their training plan status is set to 'Not Started'. This also means that their progress with the training plan and all courses in it is reset and this will be reflected in the course catalog reports.

Users can review the content of courses and training plans they are enrolled in at any time, even if the retake option is not enabled.

 

Retake initialized by the admin

A course or course catalog administrator can initialize retake of a course/training plan for a specific learner two ways:

  • via LMS365 Admin Center > Users > select the relevant learner > View Learner’s Progress > select the relevant course/training plan > select the Retake icon.

 

  • via the LMS365 Admin Center > Training Management > select the relevant course/training plan > Course/Training Plan Progress > select the relevant learner > select the Retake icon.

 

A confirmation message will notify that the learner's progress will be reset and that the learner's previous completion will remain in the learner's training records. The status of the course/training plan will be changed to Not Started for the learner in question.

 

NOTE   

If the learner has completed the training plan or the courses within it before, their previous records will still be available in their Transcript.

 

A course or course catalog administrator can initialize a retake of a specific course for a learner inside the training plan by selecting the Expand button, choosing the relevant course, and selecting the Retake icon.

 

 

 

Retake initialized by the learner

If the option Voluntary Retake is allowed by the course administrator and the training is completed, the learner via My Training Dashboard can initialize a retake for a course

 

 

or training plan.

 

 

Or the learner can initialize a retake from the training home page.

 

 

A confirmation message will notify the learner that the course/training plan progress, including the progress of all the learning items (for training plans - courses) inside it, will be reset, their status will be changed to Not Started and that they will need to complete this training again. This action can't be undone.

If the learner has completed the course or training plan (or courses within it) before, their previous records will still be available in their Transcript

 

 

After confirming the action, the learner's progress will be reset.

 

 

Until the retake is completed, both the previous completion (Completed status) and the retake (Not Started or In Progress status) will be stated in the Transcript section of My Training Dashboard.

 

 

For courses of the type Instructor-Led Training with the enrollment type Enroll user into a single course session, the retake option will differ depending on the number of active sessions:

  • Learners will be automatically enrolled in the course after selecting the Retake option if there is only one active session available.
  • Learners will have to select a session to enroll in the course if there are several active sessions available (the Retake course option will not be active until a session is selected).

 

 

NOTE   

The Retake course button will not be displayed in courses that have no active sessions.

 

A confirmation message will notify the learner that their training progress will be reset and their status will be changed to Not Started for the course/training plan in question, but that, if they have completed the training before, their previous records will still be available in their Transcript.

 

 

After confirming the action, the learner's course progress will be reset.

 

 

 

Notification flows after a retake

After a retake is initiated, in particular cases, learners will receive email notifications related to the retake flow. Below, you can find a description of these notification flows.

 

E-learning courses

 

Enrollment flow type Retake is initialized by the learner Retake is initialized by the course administrator
With Automatic Approval. No email notifications are sent. No email notifications are sent.
With Line Manager/ Administrator Approval. First, a Course Enrollment Cancellation notification is sent to the learner. After this, the learner will receive a Pending Approval Confirmation notification. First, a Course Enrollment Cancellation notification is sent to the learner. After this, the learner will receive a Pending Approval Confirmation notification.

 

Please find more details about the notifications specific for e-Learning courses in this article.

 

Instructor-Led Training courses

For courses with the Enroll user into a single course session enrollment type:

 

Enrollment flow type Retake is initialized by the learner Retake is initialized by the course administrator
With Automatic Approval. No email notifications are sent. A Course Session Selection Request notification is sent to the learner.
With Line Manager/ Administrator Approval. First, an Instructor-Led Training Enrollment Cancellation notification is sent to the learner. After this, the learner receives a Session Enrollment Approval Request notification.  First, an Instructor-Led Training Enrollment Cancellation notification is sent to the learner. After this, the learner receives a Session Enrollment Approval Request notification. An Instructor-Led Training Scheduled – Appointment Invite notification is received by the learner within 10 minutes after the course admin forces a retake.

 

For courses with the Enroll user into all course sessions enrollment type:

 

Enrollment flow type Retake is initialized by learner Retake is initialized by course admin
With Automatic Approval. An Instructor-Led Training Scheduled – Appointment Invite notification is sent to the learner. An Instructor-Led Training Scheduled – Appointment Invite notification is sent to the learner.
With Line Manager/ Administrator Approval First, an Instructor-Led Training Enrollment Cancellation notification is sent to the learner. After this, the learner receives a Session Enrollment Approval Request notification.

First, an Instructor-Led Training Enrollment Cancellation notification is sent to the learner. After this, the learner will receive a Session Enrollment Approval Request notification. An Instructor-Led Training Scheduled – Appointment Invite notification is received by the learner within 10 minutes after the course admin forces a retake.

 

Please find more details about the notifications specific for Instructor-Led Training courses in this article.

 

Training plans

 

Enrollment flow type Retake is initialized by learner Retake is initialized by course admin
With Automatic Approval. Depending on the courses included in the training plan: Depending on the courses included in the training plan:
With Line Manager/ Administrator Approval. First, a Training Plan Enrollment Cancellation notification is sent to the learner. After this, a Training Plan Pending Approval Confirmation notification is sent. First, a Training Plan Enrollment Cancellation notification is sent to the learner. After this, a Training Plan Enrollment Confirmation notification is sent.

 

Please find more details about the notifications specific for training plans in this article.

 

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.