Using Azure AD or Microsoft 365 groups with LMS365

In LMS365, an efficient way of enrolling learners on a course or training plan is by enrolling the members of Azure Active Directory (Azure AD) groups or Microsoft 365 groups that can be created via the Microsoft 365 admin center or in Microsoft Outlook. You can find the most used scenarios referring to Azure AD or MS365 groups with LMS365 in this article.  

 

NOTE   

  • We recommend you contact your internal IT team to determine if your organization allows you to create groups, or if groups will be managed by your IT team.
  • LMS365 can read the membership of Azure AD groups, including AD Dynamic groups and nested AD groups. You can find out more about groups limitations and restrictions under Groups here.
  • LMS365 doesn't read the membership of mail distribution groups.

 

In this article

 

Bulk enrollment of learners in courses and training plans via groups

For e-Learning courses and training plans

When you enroll an Azure AD or Microsoft 365 group in a course or training plan, all users from this group will be automatically added to the Users list. Please note that all members of the group will be added so be careful about which groups are used.

 

For Instructor-Led Training courses

If you enroll an Azure AD or Microsoft 365 group via the  People section of the Instructor-Led Training course, each user in the group will be counted and the total number of users of the group will be stated in brackets next to the group title.

 

 

Adding administrators to courses and training plans via groups

It's possible to add administrators to courses and trainings via groups. This is achieved via the People section of the course or training plan configuration panel, under the Administrators tab. The number of group members is displayed in brackets next to the group name.

 

Group_252__8_.png

 

Adding new members to Azure AD or Microsoft 365 groups

If you subsequently add new users to your Azure AD or Microsoft 365 group, these users will also be automatically added to the courses and training plans, where this group was added at the top of the hour when Azure Active Directory syncs to LMS365. When this is successful, they will receive an email of their enrollment confirmation at the top of the hour after the sync.

 

Removing members from Azure AD or Microsoft 365 groups

If you remove users from an Azure AD or Microsoft 365 group, these users will be removed from all the courses and training plans that the group was enrolled in. 

The training progress of the courses or training plans of these learners will not be shown. If they were in progress then their training progress status will be stored in their learning transcript. 

Moreover, if they were not enrolled in any other courses and training plans of the course catalog, the users will be removed from the Users list. You can still pull the historical learning records by including Inactive Learners in your Training Reports.

 

Registering attendance for users from Azure AD or Microsoft 365 groups

When registering users' attendance via the Course Management panel > Manage Course Sessions > select a session > Register Attendance, the users from Azure AD or Microsoft 365 groups are displayed individually, and not as a whole group.

 

Removing a user added via an Azure AD or Microsoft 365 group from a course catalog

When trying to remove a user who was added as a part an Azure AD or Microsoft 365 group from a course catalog, you will see a failure in notifications with a detailed description of the reason. 

 

 

 

Removing an entire Azure AD group

When you remove an entire Azure AD group, all learners that were enrolled via this group will be unenrolled from courses and training plans. The learners who were exclusively enrolled or added via this Azure AD group will be removed from the list of Users. The learners who were enrolled or added as individuals or via any other group will not be removed from the list of Users, and will not be unenrolled from courses or training plans. To find out more information about how to remove the entire group from the course catalog, follow the link.

 

 

To remove the entire Azure AD group from all systems (to free up the license), navigate to Azure Active Directory admin center > Groups > Delete group. The group will be removed a short time later.

 

Was this article helpful?
8 out of 9 found this helpful

Comments

  • Avatar
    Candice Birch

    How long should it take for the course to update after adding someone to an AD group that is enrolled already in a course?

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Nikolai Pessotski

    Synchronization between Azure and LMS365 usually starts in the first 15 minutes of every hour.

    Comment actions Permalink

Article is closed for comments.