How to apply a global navigation to LMS365 using Hub site feature

This article describes how to create hub sites in SharePoint and apply global navigation to LMS365.

NOTE   

This functionality is only relevant for courses and training plans created prior to the LMS365 January 25, 2022 release as this training is based on SharePoint subsites. From the LMS365 January 25, 2022 all training will be created as pages in the root of the SharePoint course catalog site. You can find more about this solution in this article.

In this article

 

What is a SharePoint hub site and how they are created

SharePoint hub sites help you meet the needs of your organization by connecting and organizing sites based on the project, department, division, region, etc. making it easier to:

  • Discover related content such as news and other site activities.
  • Apply common navigation, branding, and site structure across associated sites.
  • Search across all associated sites.

Detailed information on SharePoint hub sites created can be found in Create a hub site in SharePoint - SharePoint in Microsoft 365 | Microsoft Docs

 

Hub site basics for hub site owners

Edit the hub site name and logo

The hub name and logo appear in the hub site navigation bar and lets others identify the hub when connecting sites.

  1. Select SettingsSettings for SPO Migration tool.
  2. Select Hub site information.
  3. Make your edits and Save your changes.

NOTE   

You can hide the hub site name as long as you have selected a logo.

 

Edit the navigation bar

To ensure content can be easily discovered, customize the navigation of your hub site. Consider using a mega menu to increase content visibility.

  1. Select Edit.
  2. To add a new menu link or header, hover in between menu topics until you see the plus sign.
  3. To edit, move, and remove navigation links, select the ellipsis.
  4. Make your edits
  5. Save your changes.

 

Change the hub site theme

All sites associated with the hub site inherit the hub site theme.

  1. Select Settings.
  2. Select Change the look.
  3. Select the look you want. A preview of the theme appears.
  4. Select Save, to apply the theme to your site

NOTE   

  • If the theme for the site that was converted to a hub site was never changed from the default theme assigned by SharePoint at the time it was created, the sites associated with the hub site do not inherit the hub site theme.
  • Classic experience SharePoint sites that are associated with a hub site retain their original theme.
  • Changes made to the theme may not appear right away.

 

Choose a site design for associated sites

Associated sites are the individual sites that are connected to the hub site. If made available by your admin, select a site design to apply to all associated sites. The site design automatically applies to sites that join the hub site in the future.

  1. Select Settings.
  2. Select Site information.
  3. From the dropdown list, select the site design you want to be applied.
  4. Select Save.

NOTE   

Your admin manages site design options.

 

Hub permissions

Enable hub permissions to sync site permissions to increases access to all sites in the hub. Hub permissions apply to individuals, Office 365 Groups, or security groups, as visitors on associated sites.

 

A couple of considerations:

  • For now, when you share the hub with others, they can only be added as a visitor.
  • Associated site owners are not required to sync site permissions with hub permissions in order to associate to the hub. This enables sites that contain sensitive information to remain associated to the hub but not shared with everyone.
  • Existing site permissions will not change when permissions sync with hub permissions.
  • Updating hub permissions can take up to 4 hours to reflect on associated sites once they have been visited.
  • When an associated site leaves the hub, the hub permissions are removed from the site.
  • Viewers will see content, news, and site activity differently on each site associated to the hub based on the permissions set by the site owner.

Set up your hub to sync permissions with associated sites

  1. Select Settings  Settings for SPO Migration tool  followed by Site Permissions.
  2. Navigate to the Hub pivot.
  3. Switch the toggle to ON to automatically sync hub site permissions with sites that associate to the hub.
  4. Then, to give access to this hub site, enter the names of individuals or groups.

Hubs permissions panel

Hubs permissions panel, toggle on

 

 

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.