How does training audience targeting and course targeting work?

The Training Audience Targeting option on courses and training plans will limit access to the course or training plan home page and content. If the global targeting option in course catalogs—Course Targeting is enabled in the LMS365 Global Settings, the Training Audience Targeting option will also control which courses and training plans that are displayed to which users in a catalog. 

In this article, we will explain the two targeting options and how they affect each other.

NOTE   

When training targeting in course catalogs is enabled, the GET /odata/v2/Courses API endpoint will filter results by permissions of the current user (refers to authentication via bearer token).

 

In this article

 

The Training Audience Targeting option

Training Audience Targeting allows you to target courses and training plans to certain users and/or groups.

Once individual users, Azure Active Directory (AAD) or Microsoft 365 groups are specified in the Target Audience field of a course or training plan, you will limit the access to the training in question.

In this case, the users and/or groups added in the Target Audience field will have access to the course or training plan in question. The admins of the training, session instructors (for the instructor-led training), enrolled users, course and catalog admins will also have access to this training. Other users won't have access to this training.

If no users are added to the Target Audience field of a course or training plan, every user, who has access to the catalog of the course or training plan, will have access to the training.

 

Find information about the configuration options for the Training Audience Targeting option for courses here and training plans here

 

The Course Targeting option

The global targeting option in your LMS365 tenantCourse Targeting—controls whether Training Audience Targeting affects the display of courses and training plans in course catalogs.

By default, the Course Targeting option is disabled in Global Settings, which means that all users with access to a catalog will see all courses and training plans in it, regardless of Training Audience Targeting settings of respective courses and training plans.

If the Course Targeting option is enabled globally, it activates the rules for Training Audience Targeting at training level. This means that only users specified in the Target Audience of a course or training plan—as well as users that are enrolled in the training, session instructors, catalog and course admins—will be able to see this training on the course catalog page.

 

Combinations of targeting settings

Course Targeting (in global settings)

Training Audience Targeting (in training settings)

Who can see the course or training plan on the course catalog page?

Who can access the training home page and training content?

On

On

 

Only users and groups added to the Target Audience as well as users enrolled in the training, session instructors, catalog and course admins.

 

Only users and groups added to the Target Audience, as well as users enrolled in the training, session instructors, catalog and course admins.

Off

On

Everyone with access to the course catalog page.

 

Only users and groups added to the Target Audience, as well as users enrolled in the training, session instructors, catalog and course admins.

 

On

Off

Everyone with access to the course catalog page.

 

Everyone with access to the course catalog page.

 

Off

Off

Everyone with access to the course catalog page.

 

Everyone with access to the course catalog page.

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
5 out of 7 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.