How training audience and course targeting work?

The Training Audience Targeting option on courses and training plans will limit access to the course or training plan home page and content. If Course Targeting is enabled in the LMS365 Global Settings, the Training Audience Targeting option will also control which courses and training plans that are displayed to which users in a course catalog. 

In this article, we will explain the two targeting options and how they affect each other.

NOTE   

Course targeting can also be achieved with LMS365 API. When Global Targeting is enabled, the GET /odata/v2/Courses API endpoint will filter results by permissions of the current user (refers to authentication via bearer authorization).

 

In this article

 

The Training Audience Targeting option

Training Audience Targeting allows you to target courses and training plans to individual or a certain group of users.

Once individual users or Active Directory/Microsoft 365 group(s) are specified in the Training Audience Targeting field of a course or training plan, you will limit the access to the training in question.

In this case, the users and/or groups added in the Training Audience Targeting field will have access to the course or training plan. The course admin(s) of the course or training plan, session instructions for the course, and users, that are enrolled as learners to the course or training plan, will also have access to this training. Course catalog admins will always have access to all courses. Other users will not have access to this training.

If no users are added to the Training Audience Targeting field of a course or training plan, every user, who has access to the course catalog of the course or training plan, will have access to the training.

 

Please find information about the configuration options for the Training Audience Targeting option for courses here and training plans here

 

The Course Targeting option

The Course Targeting option controls whether Training Audience Targeting affects the display of courses in course catalogs.

By default, the Course Targeting option is disabled in Global Settings, which means that all users with access to the course catalog will see all courses and training plans in it, regardless of Training Audience Targeting settings of respective courses and training plans.

If the Course Targeting option is enabled on a global level, only users specified in the Training Audience Targeting of a course or training planas well as learners that are enrolled in the training, instructors, and course catalog admins and course adminswill be able to see this training from the course catalog.

 

Overview of combinations of targeting settings

 

Course Targeting (in global settings)

Training Audience Targeting

Can see the course or training plan in the course catalog

Has access to the course or training plan home page and content

On

On

Only users/groups added to the Training Audience Targeting as well as learners that are enrolled in the training, instructors, and course catalog and course admins.

Only users/groups added to the Training Audience Targeting as well as learners that are enrolled in the training, instructors, and course catalog and course admins.

Off

On

Everyone with access to the course catalog.

Only users/groups added to the Training Audience Targeting as well as learners that are enrolled in the training, instructors, and course catalog and course admins.

On

Off

Everyone with access to the course catalog.

Everyone with access to the course catalog.

Off

Off

Everyone with access to the course catalog.

Everyone with access to the course catalog.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
5 out of 7 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.